Life without borders

The Torres Strait - Cape York Peninsula is at ...

Image via Wikipedia

Here in Australia we live without borders.

I am in Queensland.

East of me is the Pacific Ocean.

South is another Australian State, New South Wales (NSW)

North is the Torres Strait

I grew up in New Zealand where there are no states.


So no borders of any kind.

and west is either Northern Territory or South Australia.

I have been to the border of North & South Korea.

I didn’t cross it.

I have only ever flown over a border.

I am really curious about what borders you have crossed?

check out all this cool stuff added via WPs new

Zemanta what do you think of it?

About Jane

Living through writing and Writing through life.
This entry was posted in australia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Life without borders

  1. I cross the border between New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory every day and I still get a buzz out if it. Some of my favourite photos from my childhood involve my brother and I standing across state borders.

    I didn’t know NZ doesn’t have states… I was only wondering the other day whether all countries have states… now I know. 🙂

  2. I have lived all over the country and even in Germany for a few years (hubby and I were military). I supposed I have crossed many boarders but I have never felt boxed in. I wonder what it would feel like to live in a country where you do feel boxed in with TRUE borders

  3. Andrea says:

    Wow that is great. I have not found the personal settings page on my dashboard yet. Still working on it! might need to update…. hmm…

  4. We live on the west coast, Oregon to be specific. It’s funny a lot of people don’t even know we are there. I tried explaining to someone we are above California and they thought that meant Washington. Nope Oregon in between California and Washington.

    I have traveled to both California and Washington, I cross the washington border probably twice a year. I have also been to Idaho and Montana by train and drove to Nevada to get married.

    I have also been across the Canadian border just once, driving up to visit my husbands great aunt in the town his mother grew up.

    So it seems I have crossed a lot of borders, but no where near as many as most.

    • Jane says:

      I have a freind just south of Portland so I know where you are. Train to Montana would have lovely views. I’m thinking. thanks for the visit.

Leave a Reply

