How To*: make a Quiche

weekend cooks are here

Back HERE I promised to post the process of making a Quiche.

I have been making these for years. I have no idea who taught me.

Years ago my mother gave me a beautiful quiche dish,&  I have never had a failure using it.

Maryline from Franco American Dream recently asked me when I would be posting this *How To Post.

I hope this is not coals to newcastle (what is the northern american version of that?)

So here it is.

Prep time about 30 mins. Cooking about 40 mins. Not Difficult

This is the end result.

Gather eggs (room temperature), sour cream, tomatoes

crack the eggs into a bowl (12-15)

add a couple of teaspoons of the sour cream to the eggs, beat

see

a hand whisk is fine. Try & get some froth

grate your cheese. you can mix a couple of types. I use mild & tasty cheddar or mild & mozarella

pick some parsley – hopefully from your garden, or purchase (gee my photographic skills have improved)

chop finely

dice ham (or don’t use ham if you are vegetarian) dice onion: saute together. Turn your oven on now. 180C with the rack in the middle.

the dish my mother gave me. Spray lightly – I use olive oil spray. Don’t forget the sides. Be careful if you get it on the floor, it makes it very slippery.

melt butter: I can’t tell you how much I always have too much or not enough), dampen a clean cloth & get your pastry out of the fridge. In this case I used filo pastry but your can use regular shortcrust.

this is the filo pastry out of the pack and a damp cloth over the top. It dries very quickly

brush the pastry with butter & layer into the quiche dish. If you are using regular pastry you only need the one layer. For filo which I think is nicer, you will need several, placed in on various angles.

make sure the oven is on!

now you are ready to assemble: the oven is preheating,you have gathered: your dish with pastry in it, tomatoes (you will need to keep 3 nice round slices aside) , parsley, grated cheese, sauted ham & onion

you are going to need to cook this for about 40 mins so if you are planning on eating it hot thats about how long til meal-time.

sprinkle the ham, onion, diced tomaotes on top of the pastry in the dish

pour the frothy beaten eggs in ( for this size quiche I use about 15: adjust up or down)

sprinkle the parsley on top (I don’t use salt & pepper – you can)

sprinkle the cheese on top. I tend to use a lot of cheese.

add the 3 slices I said to keep

this has been in the oven about half the time

when you remove the quiche from the oven it will be (mine are) high and puffy, as it cools it will flatten. If there is any left over (which there mostly isn’t) I freeze cooled  individual sections.

You can make this same recipe using muffin trays. Use a glass with a circumference about the size of the top of the muffin hole. I have made mini-quice with regular pastry & filo.  When I had my last open  heart surgery my ‘sister’ made a large picnic basket of the mini version & bought them into the hospital cardiac ward. These were for the staff  to give them a break from all the chocolates I had had delivered to them. (Hey, it helps)

serve with a nice fresh salad

link back to me when you post a blog photo of your quiches.

questions? feel free to ask….

bon appetit

About Jane

Living through writing and Writing through life.
This entry was posted in australia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to How To*: make a Quiche

  1. Maryline says:

    Beautiful!! I need to try your recipe and take a picture too!
    I did a crustless quiche yesterday, fast and yummy, but I’ve got to try the filo dough!
    My mom used to make quiches all the time using “pate feuilletee”. I just don’t know if I can make it from scratch successfully. I wish the US grocery stores would sell it. They only have the plain kind unfortunately!

  2. Beth F says:

    Okay, this is fabulous. I have been making quiche for years and never though of a phyllo crust. It is so pretty that way. And with all the beautiful fresh produce now in North America, I really must try this.

    What a pretty pie plate!

    • Jane says:

      Hey Beth maybe you can post your quichepicture and link to me.
      I love the dish my mother gave me I guess I have had it maybe 20 years and never a failure
      thanks for coming over…

  3. Rose says:

    That looks super delicious and easy to do. Thanks for sharing. Have a nice weekend!

  4. homemom3 says:

    Thank you so much for posting this. I’ve always heard the word “Quiche” but never had one and always wanted to try. Thanks to your picture and step by step I’m now going to try it sometime this month. 🙂

  5. Liz says:

    Very yummy looking! And it’s a quick quiche, too! I love anything that takes 30 minutes or less! Nice Post!

    My cousin gave me a great spinach quiche recipe. I’ll share it with you sometime.

    I’m thinking our “rags to riches” may be your “coals to castles.” Anybody want to back me up on this?

    • Jane says:

      Hey Liz, thanks for visiting. yes nice and quick and super yummy
      coals to newcastle is taking coals to newcastle, a coal town. so providing, to the not needing.
      so quiche instructions to a french women?
      surely she wouldnt be needing it.

  6. very nice…a good site for the cookery lovers…thanks for sharing

  7. Marg says:

    This would have made a perfect Weekend Cooking post 😉

    I have never made quiche. I bought a quiche dish years ago, and I think I have only ever used it once. Maybe I should get it out and give it a try!

    • Jane says:

      – didn’t even think about WC post. oh well. Yes get the dish out and have a go and then link back to me with a picture of the result.

  8. Marsha Markham says:

    This looks lovely. I had never made quiche with filo dough…what a great idea. I make pie crust for mine but want to try this method next time. I like swiss cheese for one of the cheeses but you are right…you can adjust that. Broccoli is also good in them.
    I just finished making some lavender bouquets to take to my visiting teaching people…a bouquet for two of our widow neighbors and several for around the house…my house smells like Heaven! Greg is planning to make some essential oils with some of the blooms that have dried more.

  9. pip says:

    Um. Yum. I am coming right over. White or red? xx

Leave a Reply

