the man that held my heart

♥ ♥ ♥

Today I had an appointment with the surgeon who performed my 4th & final open heart surgery

ten years ago.

I took this list for him:

Highlights of the 10 years since my heart surgery:

  • Gained 7 grandchildren: 5 girls & 2 boys
  • I moved to a townhouse with stairs
  • I flew from Brisbane to Japan to Korea and back.
  • I moved to the city to live alone
  • Dad died
  • I moved to Perth
  • I became a TAFE lecturer (Finding your life’s passion)
  • Was a Presenter at 2 Women’s Conferences
  • Fixed my relationship with mum
  • Bought a Scooter
  • Wrote 110,000 words of my book
  • Hosted my 64th International student – then retired
  • Looked after mum until she died
  • Flew back & forth up & down Australia many times
  • Let my hair go grey- love the white streaks like mum’s
  • Became a serious blogger.
  • Moved from GC to Brisbane
  • Bought a car

The surgeon said he will retire in about 10 years & that I will be the last patient he will see.  This man has had my life in his hands, my heart in his hands. He is therefore very special to me.

The little hug as I left meant the world to me.

♥ ♥ ♥

I will never be like you, I will never have boundless energy. Life will always have tough stuff in it. I will always have to deal with disapointments: when I want to do something & planned to do something and then cannot: this is tougher on me than you. There will always be struggles, but there will also be successes. There will always be wins. The glass will always be half full. Or more…

ps. I forgot to mention that I printed it and then rolled it up like a scroll and tied it with a navy ribbon.


About Jane

Living through writing and Writing through life.
This entry was posted in Health, heart surgeries and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to the man that held my heart

  1. WOW! You had open heart surgery – that’s AMAZING! Just wow!

  2. What a great idea, Jane. I’d love for you to do a guest post, and what better time than on the 10th? I think my readers would benefit hearing about your personal challenge to eat better. In the US we have great and numerous obstacles to healthy eating (so much inexpensive junk food and many bad habits that already span generations). Your quest is admirable. Let’s talk.

  3. How thoughtful was your list! You’ve done a lot in the past 10 years. Missed you on 6WS, so I’m catching up on your posts. Those are some sexy-looking strawberries! And guess what? My birthday is August 10th, too. How about that? I once dated a man with the same birthday. I knew there was another reason I like you!

    • Jane says:

      Hiiii
      I thought I posted on the last 6WS, I was early – maybe you looked at the end of the list. lol. Understandable. Let’s party on 10th.
      Maybe we could do a guest post thing on each others blogs to celebrate the special day..
      just a thought.

  4. Wendy says:

    I always love to read your articles Jane. Happy anniversary. 🙂

  5. This is such a lovely thing that you took to your surgeon what an wonderful idea – I’m sure it meant a lot to him.

    • Jane says:

      I forgot to mention that I printed it all out and then rolled it up like a scroll and tied it with a navy ribbon. I’m going back to add that.
      He said he would keep it as a piece of history. Thanks for appreciating my post.

Leave a Reply

