{weekend cooking}

a little late…

(hey I was out living life)

check out more foodies here

I hardly ever eat potato but they seem to be in several recent posts.

I decided my body needed some iron so I bought a steak (sorry if you are vegetarian, I’m not)

WHAT FOODS CONTAIN THE MOST IRON?
High protein foods like:
Red meats

Egg yolks

Beans like lima, pinto, kidney

Peas such as green split, or lentils
Oatmeal
Spinach/silverbeet
When you eat foods that contain more vitamin C – like those below, you will increase the body’s absorption of iron from foods.
Oranges or orange juice
Grapefruit or grapefruit juice
Tomatoes or tomato juice
Strawberries
Cantaloupe
Kiwi fruit
Broccoli
Cauliflower

this is a list of the foods I like & will eat.

About Jane

Living through writing and Writing through life.
This entry was posted in Weekend Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to {weekend cooking}

  1. Beth F says:

    Thanks for these lists. I knew that vitamin C helped with absorption, but I didn’t know know that oats had iron. That’s good, because I eat oatmeal with fruit a lot (like several times a week).

    Despite the fact that I ate hamburgers this weekend for the July 4 holiday, that photo makes me want to have another one!

Leave a Reply

