{weekend cooking} the slow way

read of other cooks here

before I get to to the weekend food here is a great steak meal I had during the week:$20 lathered in mushroom sauce tasting of charcoal.

right, here’s this weekend’s creation.

I started Saturday afternoon with the lamb shank in the slow cooker.  It’s just a small slow cooker makes enough for a meal & one for the freezer. I have a large family size slow cooker also. I browned the lamb then ran into a problem with one lamb shank not fitting into the cooker. Having no hacksaw, I just put it in anyway & left the bone sticking out, covered the lot with foil and then put the lid onto that. I set the slow cooker to low and by Saturday night the meat fell off the bone. I put the bowl of the cooker into the fridge overnight.

I put the slowcooker on a few hours earlier, & then I sauted chopped onion & garlic, added them, as well as a can of diced tomatoes. Then a few dried mixed herbs.

top left: I added hot peas to the slow cooker while the potatoes cooked (middle) then mashed them:top right.

I added some sour cream and butter to the poatoes as I blended them, but not to smoothly. Served up & then added broccoli, because I wanted more fresh greens.

5 ***** yummy.

About Jane

Living through writing and Writing through life.
This entry was posted in australia. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to {weekend cooking} the slow way

  1. Esme says:

    At first when you said charcoal it did not sound very good.

  2. Yum. Lamb shank is my husband’s favorite dinner. One of the reasons he prefers winter to summer is so I will make them for him.

    My weekend cooking project was a dud.

  3. I have never cooked a lamb shank….I have eaten them in a restaurant. but never cooked one.
    as to the steak…I LOVE mushrooms.

  4. Beth F says:

    Oh yeah! Perfect fall meal. I adore lamb shanks and I often make them in the slow cooker. Now I’m going to have to see if I have any left in the freezer. Yummmmm.

  5. Marg says:

    I love using my slow cooker, and lamb shanks! Yum. I did neither this weekend but I did make potato, leek and ham soup which was good too.

Leave a Reply

