Imagine

a world at peace – always

My father survived WWII, though it had an impact on him that lasted his whole life.

My father taught me many things including that men died upon the beaches of Gallipoli

so that I might have a secret vote in democratic elections.

It is me fervant desire that my son, or grandson, or even grand daughters never have to go to war, nor have it come to them.

Or any other mother’s children.

I attend the ANZAC parade at the primary school of the young children in my family.

During the minute silence, I found myself to be quite emotional as I reflected upon all the lives given that we may be free. Also all the hearts that broke, the tears that were shed – for surely they that stayed were as much heroes as those that went.

Thankyou

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old.
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.

Lest we forget.

About Jane

Living through writing and Writing through life.
This entry was posted in ANZAC, australia, New Zealand and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Imagine

  1. Marg says:

    I get emotional every time . Today my son was playing footy and they did a really good job of celebrating the Anzacs. Before every game they said those same words as you have posted and the last post, and then a minute’s silence. The boy was so excited at the prospect of playing footy on Anzac Day. Personally I was a little surprised that they were!

Leave a Reply

