re ‘Rhett Butler’s People’

a lot of people have asked me if this was a good book to read. My answer is YES.

I am a picky reader, if an author writes out of time, ie uses a contemporary word or gestures etc in a historical setting that’s it I close the book never to open it again. (same in movies)

I have to say this is a really great, authentic read. I raised my eyebrows once over something but can’t even recall now what it was, so I must have been reassured somewhere along the way.

It is worth noting this book has been authroised – and you will see/read scenes you are familiar with (from a different point of view) and yes it does evoke the movie, and the book …but that’s why you are reading it in the first place. Right?

You want to know more about Rhett…who he was, and how he came to be the man we love. What shaped him and so forth…it answers so many questions.

so check it out of your library (get on a waiting list if need be) or go buy it. Borrow it, whatever, but read it.

I loved it. Maybe you will, maybe you won’t.

It won’t be a movie, Clarke and Vivian are gone, so it can never be – for no one else can ever be Rhett Butler or MIss Scarlett O’Hara Hamilton Kennedy Butler!


Jane

About Jane

Living through writing and Writing through life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to re ‘Rhett Butler’s People’

  1. Betty says:

    Well, although I loved Alexandra Ripley’s “Scarlett” more than I liked the movie, I thought Timothy Dalton and Joanne Whalley were great as Rhett and Scarlett. Did you watch the movie “Scarlett”?

Leave a Reply

